A Thank You Letter to the Barn Mom

A “barn mom” can be in reference to all sorts of mothers who support their child’s passion and love of horses; the one who proudly observes every lesson and show, the one who signs every check because she knows you can’t put a price tag on love, and mothers like my mom, who provides so much moral support that I feel I would be lost without her.

It seems that a simple “thank you” isn’t enough. After all, how do you show your gratitude for the person who has always displayed endless amounts of support for a sport, a hobby, a passion that many people think is a waste of time and money? Simply put, merely thanking my mother isn’t enough, but I will always try to.

Thank you, Mom. Thank you for spending countless hours and dollars driving me out to the barn and then having to pick me up again a few hours later, because you had other kids at home and work to be done. I know you would have stayed to watch lessons if you could, but life as a single parent isn’t easy and your true and honest moral support for me trumped your physical presence. Thank you for not minding when I constantly came home way past dinner time in the ninth grade, because getting the opportunity to work off a lease on a backyard pony was so cool and I just had to see her every single day.

Thank you for spending hours comforting me as I shed tears because I wasn’t prepared for what it would feel like when my first horse, the one I saved money for years for and dreamed about since I was a little girl, didn’t work out in the end. I know that it was probably as hard for you as it was for me sometimes, to see your daughter feel so sad; but the world of horses isn’t always easy. Thank you for picking me back up, and helping me out on a whim to buy a barely broke, seventeen hand Thoroughbred that would end up being the best horse I could ever imagine. Everyone thought I was crazy for getting another horse right before I was supposed to go to college. Oh, and thank you for keeping him a secret from Dad until I could break the news to him a few weeks later.

Life with horses is a different world on its own, and sometimes I forget that. Thank you for listening to me frequently ramble on about how good my horse is every day that I ride him and providing reassuring words when things aren’t always perfect. I know that you have more important things to worry about than my horse losing his shoe, but you patiently let me complain anyway. Thank you for giving me a second opinion on what weight of blanket I should put on my horse, how often I should get him adjusted and what type of treats he might like best (okay, I haven’t asked you that yet, but it will probably come).

Truly, your moral support is what has gotten me through the most difficult parts of this journey. You always have encouraged me to pursue my passion and love for horses, no matter what anyone else thinks. Never once did you say that it’s foolish to spend so much money on a horse while I’m trying to get through college, because you know that a life without doing what you love is not a life at all.

Even though I feel I will never be able to repay everything that you have done for me, I want to say thank you, Mom. I love you. Thank you to the barn moms, the cheerleaders, the counselors, the check signers; I think that every equestrian who is lucky enough to have a barn mom can honestly say we would be lost without you.

d3275de3bbbf36d6907a6676435142e6

Leave a Reply

